IPPA Board of Directors

Terms of Office End as Noted

  • Lea Waters, Ph.D., President (2019)

Gerry Higgins Chair in Positive Psychology, Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne, Australia

  • Barbara Fredrickson, Ph.D., Immediate Past-President (2019)

Kenan Distinguished Professor Director,
Social Psychology Doctoral Program Department of Psychology
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

  • Judy Moskowitz, Ph.D., President-Elect (2019)

Professor of Medical Social Sciences
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

  • Kim Cameron, Ph.D., Secretary (2019)
William Russell Kelly Professor of Management and Organizations
Ross School of Business and Professor of Higher Education
University of Michigan, USA
  • Betsy Webb, Treasurer (2019)
  • Meike Bartels, Ph.D., Member-At-Large (2019)

Professor in Genetics and Wellbeing at the department of Biological Psychology
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

  • Leona Brandwene, Member-At-Large (2019)

Associate Director
Masters of Applied Positive Psychology Program
University of Pennsylvania

  • Michael Steger, Ph.D., Member-At-Large (2019)

Professor of Psychology, and the Founding Director of the Center for Meaning and Purpose Colorado State University.

  • James Pawelski, Ph.D., Executive Director (2019)

Director of Education and Senior Scholar
Positive Psychology Center
University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Martin Seligman, Ph.D., Senior Advisor (2019)
Zellerbach Family Professor of Psychology
Director, Positive Psychology Center
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Council of Advisors


Ilona Boniwell, Ph.D. (2021)

Senior Lecturer in Positive Psychology

Program Leader, MAPP

University of East London, United Kingdom


Alejandro Castro Solano (2019)


David Cooperrider, Ph.D. (2019)

Fairmont Minerals Professor of Social Entrepreneurship

Case Western Reserve University, USA


Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Ph.D. (2019)

Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Management

Founding Co-Director, Quality of Life Research Center

Claremont Graduate University, USA


Antonella Delle Fave, M.D. (2017)

Professor of Psychology at the Faculty of Medicine

University of Milano, Italy


Stewart Donaldson, Ph.D. (2017)

Professor of Psychology and Community & Global Health

Dean of the School of Social Science, Policy & Evaluation

Dean of the School of Community & Global Health

Director of the Claremont Evaluation Center

Claremont Graduate University, USA


Maria Elena Garassini, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychology

Universidad Metropolitana, Venezuela


Anthony Grant, Ph.D. (2017)

Director, Coaching Psychology Unit

University of Sydney, Australia


Dora Guorun Guomundsdottir, (ex 0fficio)


Nick Haslam, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychology

University of Melbourne, Australia


John Helliwell, Ph.D. (2019)

Arthur J.E. Child Foundation Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research

Co-Director, CIFAR Program on Social Interactions, Identity and Well Being

Professor Emeritus, Economics, University of British Columbia, Canada


Rose Inza-Kim, Ph.D. (2019)

Director, Korea Counsiling Center

Professor Emeritus, Sogang University – Seoul, Korea


Gail lronson, MD, Ph.D. (ex officio)

President, Positive Health and Wellness Division

Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry

University of Miami


Margaret Kern (ex officio)

President, Positive Education Division

Senior Lecturer Centre for Positive Psychology Melbourne Graduate School of Education

The University of Melbourne


Hans Henrik Knoop, Ph.D. (2019)

President, European Network for Positive Psychology

Associate Professor, Danish School of Education, Denmark


Marlena Kossakowska, Ph.D. (2019)

Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical and Health Psychology

Warsaw School of Social Sciences and Humanities, Poland


Richard Layard (2019)

Director, Well-Being Program, Centre for Economic Performance

London School of Economics, United Kingdom


Charles Martin-Krumm, Ph.D. (2019)

Assistant Professor, Psychology

University of Western Brittany – CREAD – Research Labatory, France


Alireza Memarian (ex officio)

President, Students of the International Positive Psychology Division


Helena Marujo, Ph.D. (2021)

Professor of Psychology

University of Lisbon, Portugal


Mario Mikulincer, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor and Dean, School of Psychology

Interdisciplinary Center Herzlyia, Israel


Jeanne Nakamura, Ph.D. (2019)

Assistant Professor, Psychology

School of Behavioral and Organizational Sciences

Claremont Graduate University, USA

Ryan Niemiec, Ph.D. (2021)

Director of Education

VIA Institute on Character


Luis Miguel Neto, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychology

University of Lisbon, Portugal


Nansook Park, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychology

Director, Michigan Positive Psychology Center

University of Michigan, USA


Kaiping Peng, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor, Psychology

Tsinghua University, China


Sarah Pressman, Ph.D. (2021)

Assistant Professor of Psychology and Social Behavior

University of California, Irvine, USA


Tayyab Rashid, Ph.D. (ex officio)

President, Positive Clinical Psychology Division

Licensed clinical psychologist at the Health & Wellness Centre

Associate faculty, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)


Willibald Ruch, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychology

University of Zurich, Switzerland


Marei Salama-Younes, Ph.D. (2021)

Associate Professor of Sport Positive Psychology

Helwan Univeristy – Cairo, Egypt


Kamlesh Singh, Ph.D. (2019)

Associate Professor of Psychology

Indian Institute of Technology – Delhi, India


Alena Slezåckovå, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychology

Masaryk University, Czech Republic


Philip Streit, Ph.D. (2019)

Director, Institute for Kids, Youth and Family, Austria


Giselle Timmerman, MAPP (ex officio)

President, Work and Organizations Division


George Vaillant, M.D. (2019)

Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School

Co-Director, The Study of Adult Development

Brigham and Women’s Hospital, USA


Carmelo Vasquez, Ph.D. (2019)

Complutense University of Madrid


Dianne Vella-Brodrick, (2021)

Associate Professor, Director of Master of Applied Positive Psychology

The University of Melbourne, Australia


Lei Wang, Ph.D. (2017)

Vice Chair of Psychology Department

Peking University, China


Marie Wissing, Ph.D. (2017)

Professor, School of Psychosocial Behavioral Sciences

North West University, South Africa


Philip Zimbardo, Ph.D. (2017)

Professor Emeritus, Psychology

Stanford University, USA