2013 IPPA Awards Program Winners

Christopher Peterson Gold Medal

The Christopher Peterson Gold Medal is conferred to the member who exemplifies the best of positive psychology at the personal, professional, and academic levels. The inaugural Christopher Peterson Gold Medal was awarded to Barbara L. Fredrickson, PhD.

 Barbara Fredrickson, psychology at the University of North CarolinaBarbara L. Fredrickson, Ph.D. is the Kenan Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Director of the Positive Emotions and Psychophysiology Lab at the University of North Carolina. She is a leading scholar studying positive emotions and their role in the promotion of individual and collective well-being. Her work is funded by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. Dr. Fredrickson has provided key contributions to the advancement of knowledge in positive psychology, through peer-reviewed articles published in prestigious journals book chapters, and books including Positivity and Love 2.0. Dr. Fredrickson’s work has been recognized with numerous honors, including the American Psychological Association’s Templeton Prize in Positive Psychology and the Society of Experimental Psychology’s Career Trajectory Award.

2013 IPPA Fellows 

The title of Fellow is conferred on IPPA members who have contributed most significantly to the scientific advancement of knowledge in their specific field of research or practice within the domain of positive psychology, and to the development of the International Positive Psychology Association.

Shane_Lopez_ThumbnailShane J. Lopez, Ph.D. is presently the world’s leading researcher on hope. As Senior Scientist at Gallup and Research Director of the Clifton Strengths Institute, Lopez leads research on the measurement of hope, as well as its relationship with strengths development, academic success, and overall well-being. He is coauthor of the statistical reports for the Clifton StrengthsFinder and the Clifton Youth StrengthsExplorer. Dr. Lopez has published over 100 journal articles and book chapters and he has edited or authored seven books including the Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Making Hope Happen: Create the Future You Want in Business and Life, which details how hope can be learned and spread to others.

SonjaLyubomirskySonja Lyubomirsky, Ph.D., is a Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of California, Riverside, where she has been recognized with the Faculty of the Year and Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards. Dr. Lyubomirsky’s research focuses on the concept of sustainable happiness, practicing gratitude and kindness as interventions, and the impact of genetic and environmental influences to happiness-increasing interventions. Her research has been awarded a Templeton Positive Psychology Prize, and grants from the Science of Generosity, John Templeton Foundation, and National Institute of Mental Health. Dr. Lyubomirsky is a fellow at the Association for Psychological Science and the Society for Social and Personality Psychology. She is the author of The How of Happiness, now translated and published in 19 countries, and The Myths of Happiness.

NansookNansook Park, Ph.D. is a Professor in the Psychology Department and the Director of the Michigan Positive Psychology Center at the University of Michigan. Her main research reflects a psychology of human strengths. Her research topics include character strengths, moral excellence, positive relationships, life meaning, positive experiences, and strength-based practice, and their role in resiliency, well-being, health, family, work, and education. She has taken the lead in developing ways to assess character strengths among children and youth and in conducting cross-cultural investigations. She played a major role for US Army-Soldier resilience and psychological fitness project and Positive Education project in Australia. She is a fellow at the Association of Psychological Science and International Positive Psychology Association, and a former Templeton Research Fellow at the Positive Psychology Center of the University of Pennsylvania. She is a member of the International Positive Psychology Association (IPPA) steering committee, a Consulting Editor for the Journal of Positive Psychology, and a former Associate Editor for the Applied Psychology: Health and Well-being.

2013 Dissertation Award

This award is conferred on the author of a recent Ph.D. dissertation that advances the science or application of positive psychology. Many of the applications received this year were characterized by impressively high levels of  originality and methodological complexity: a very promising perspective for the future of positive psychology.

First Place: Claudia Harzer

Harzer, C. (2012). Positive psychology at work: The role of character strengths for positive behavior and positive experiences at the workplace. Dissertation,  ,Universität Zürich, Switzerland.

Honorable Mention:  Dana Arakawa, Rhea Owens, Marco Weber

Arkawa, D. (2012). Emotional contagion and its relationship to mood. Dissertation, University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA.

Owens, R. (2012). Development and initial validation of the preschool strengths inventory. Dissertation. University of Kansas, USA.

Weber, M. (2012). The good character in German-speaking children and adolescents : assessment, association with life satisfaction and role in specific life-domains. Dissertation. Universität Zürich, Switzerland.

2013 Student scholarships

Thanks to the generosity of donors, twenty-four students were awarded a scholarship to attend and present their research at the 3rd World Congress. These passionate young scholars may not otherwise have been able to share their work. Congratulations to the 2013  scholarship winners:

Em Arpawong, University of Southern California
Sophia Bostock, UCL
Ferlis Bullare, Bahari, Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Sophia Chou, National Taiwan University
Philippa-Sophie Connolly, Columbia University
Sherry Cowen, Brigham Young University
Brandon Duong, University of California, Irvine
Kim Edwards, University of Western Ontario
Polona Gradisek, University of Ljubkjana
David Hansen, Technical University of Denmark
David Hatler, Universite de Montreal
Tamar Icekson, Ben Gurion University
Pulki, Khanna, Indian Institute of Technology
Emilia Lahti, University of Pennsylvania
Coralie Lanoue, Universite du Quebec a Montreal
Jean-Simons Leclerc, Universite de Montreak
Heiga Lovoll, Volda University College
Judith Mangelsdorf, Free University of Berlin
Corinna Peifer, University of Trier, Germany
Ana Progovac, University of Pittsburg
Elise Rice, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Katherine Sachs, UC Berkeley
Jacqui Synard, University of Ottawa
Kerry Whittaker, Uniformed Services University of the Health Science