IPPA Board of Directors

Terms of Office End as Noted


  • Judy Moskowitz, Ph.D., President (2021)

Professor of Medical Social Sciences
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

  • Lea Waters, Ph.D., Immediate Past-President (2021)

Gerry Higgins Chair in Positive Psychology, Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne, Australia

  • Meike Bartels, Ph.D., President-Elect (2021)

Professor in Genetics and Wellbeing at the department of Biological Psychology
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

  • Kim Cameron, Ph.D., Secretary (2021)

William Russell Kelly Professor of Management and Organizations
Ross School of Business and Professor of Higher Education
University of Michigan, USA

  • Betsy Webb, Treasurer (2020)


  • Tayyab Rashid, Ph.D., Member-At-Large (2022)

President, Positive Clinical Psychology Division
Licensed clinical psychologist at the Health & Wellness Centre
Associate faculty, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)


  • Scott Riddell, Member-At-Large (2021)


  • Michael Steger, Ph.D., Member-At-Large (2020)

Professor of Psychology, Founding Director of the Center for Meaning and Purpose Colorado State University, USA

  • Michele Tugade, Ph.D., Member-At-Large (2023)

Professor of Psychological Science, Director of the Affective Science Laboratory, Vassar College, USA

  • James Pawelski, Ph.D., Executive Director (2020)

Director of Education and Senior Scholar
Positive Psychology Center
University of Pennsylvania, USA

  • Martin Seligman, Ph.D., Senior Advisor (2021)

Zellerbach Family Professor of Psychology
Director, Positive Psychology Center
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Council of Advisors

Ilona Boniwell, Ph.D. (2021)
Senior Lecturer in Positive Psychology
Program Leader, MAPP
University of East London, United Kingdom

Leona Brandwene, (2023)
Associate Director
Masters of Applied Positive Psychology Program
University of Pennsylvania

Alejandro Castro Solano (2023)
Universidad de Palermo, Argentina

David Cooperrider, Ph.D. (2023)
Fairmont Minerals Professor of Social Entrepreneurship
Case Western Reserve University, USA

Liz Corcoran (ex officio)
Sr VP Design and Development
Impact Performance Group, USA

Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Ph.D. (2023)
Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Management
Founding Co-Director, Quality of Life Research Center
Claremont Graduate University, USA

Antonella Delle Fave, M.D. (2021)
Professor of Psychology at the Faculty of Medicine
University of Milano, Italy

Ketaki Diwan (ex officio)
Research Assistant at Amsterdam Interdisciplinary Centre For Emotion (AICE), Netherlands

Stewart Donaldson, Ph.D. (2021)
Professor of Psychology and Community & Global Health
Dean of the School of Social Science, Policy & Evaluation
Dean of the School of Community & Global Health
Director of the Claremont Evaluation Center
Claremont Graduate University, USA

Barbara Fredrickson (2023)
Kenan Distinguished Professor Director,
Social Psychology Doctoral Program Department of Psychology
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Maria Elena Garassini, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Psychology
Universidad Metropolitana, Venezuela

Anthony Grant, Ph.D. (2021)
Director, Coaching Psychology Unit
University of Sydney, Australia

Dora Guorun Guomundsdottir, (ex officio)
Director of Determinants of Health and Wellbeing, Directorate of Health, Iceland

John Helliwell, Ph.D. (2023)
Arthur J.E. Child Foundation Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research
Co-Director, CIFAR Program on Social Interactions, Identity and Well Being
Professor Emeritus, Economics, University of British Columbia, Canada

Rose Inza-Kim, Ph.D. (2023)
Director, Korea Counsiling Center
Professor Emeritus, Sogang University – Seoul, Korea

Hans Henrik Knoop, Ph.D. (2023)
President, European Network for Positive Psychology
Associate Professor, Danish School of Education, Denmark

Richard Layard (2023)
Director, Well-Being Program, Centre for Economic Performance
London School of Economics, United Kingdom

Liana Lianov (ex officio)
Chair, Happiness Science and Positive Health Committee, American College of Lifestyle Medicine, USA

Charles Martin-Krumm, Ph.D. (2023)
Assistant Professor, Psychology
University of Western Brittany – CREAD – Research Labatory, France

Helena Marujo, Ph.D. (2021)
Professor of Psychology
University of Lisbon, Portugal

Mario Mikulincer, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor and Dean, School of Psychology
Interdisciplinary Center Herzlyia, Israel

Jeanne Nakamura, Ph.D. (2023)
Assistant Professor, Psychology
School of Behavioral and Organizational Sciences
Claremont Graduate University, USA

Ryan Niemiec, Ph.D. (2021)
Director of Education
VIA Institute on Character

Luis Miguel Neto, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Psychology
University of Lisbon, Portugal

Rhea Owens (ex officio)
Assistant Professor, Education, Health & Behavior, University of North Dakota, USA

Nansook Park, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Psychology
Director, Michigan Positive Psychology Center
University of Michigan, USA

Kaiping Peng, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor, Psychology
Tsinghua University, China

Sarah Pressman, Ph.D. (2021)
Assistant Professor of Psychology and Social Behavior
University of California, Irvine, USA

Willibald Ruch, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Psychology
University of Zurich, Switzerland

Marei Salama-Younes, Ph.D. (2021)
Associate Professor of Sport Positive Psychology
Helwan Univeristy – Cairo, Egypt

Kamlesh Singh, Ph.D. (2023)
Associate Professor of Psychology
Indian Institute of Technology – Delhi, India

Alena Slezåckovå, Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Psychology
Masaryk University, Czech Republic

Philip Streit, Ph.D. (2023)
Director, Institute for Kids, Youth and Family, Austria

Margarita Tarragona, Ph.D. (2021)
Psychologist, PositivaMente, Mexico

George Vaillant, M.D. (2023)
Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Co-Director, The Study of Adult Development
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, USA

Carmelo Vasquez, Ph.D. (2023)
Complutense University of Madrid, Spain

Dianne Vella-Brodrick, (2021)
Associate Professor, Director of Master of Applied Positive Psychology
The University of Melbourne, Australia

Lei Wang, Ph.D. (2021)
Vice Chair of Psychology Department
Peking University, China

Mathew White (ex officio)
Associate Professor in the School of Education at the University of Adelaide, Australia

Marie Wissing, Ph.D. (2021)
Professor, School of Psychosocial Behavioral Sciences
North West University, South Africa

Philip Zimbardo, Ph.D. (2021)
Professor Emeritus, Psychology
Stanford University, USA